0

Sony ZSH10CP Heavy Duty CD Radio Boombox Reviews



Sony ZSH10CP Heavy Duty CD Radio Boombox

  • Rugged jobsite CD boombox with water- and dust-resistant plastic housing
  • Protective safeguard bar keeps boombox safe from stacking items and falling debris
  • CD playback modes include track programming, repeat play, and shuffle play
  • Digital, drift-free AM/FM tuner; auxiliary input for digital music players
  • Measures 20.12 x 9.6 x 6.06 inches (W x H x D); 1-year parts warranty – – Batteries are D cells – not C cells.

Built tough, this heavy duty CD boombox is perfect for the jobsite, workshop or backyard. The rugged and durable design incorporates a water3 and dust resistant seal that protects your boombox from the elements. And with its oversized handle, the ZS-H10CP is easy to transportAmazon.com Product Description If you need music that you can take with you on any rough and tumble adventure, look no further than the Sony ZS-H10CP CD Boombox. This tough unit is perfect for the job-site, workshop, or back

List Price: $ 129.95

Price: $ 119.00

4 responses to “Sony ZSH10CP Heavy Duty CD Radio Boombox Reviews”

  1. […] Read more … Share this:TwitterFacebookLike this:LikeBe the first to like this. Categories: Uncategorized Comments (0) Trackbacks (0) Leave a comment Trackback […]

  2. Jack Applewhite says:
    204 of 210 people found the following review helpful
    5.0 out of 5 stars
    A Hulk of a Boombox, May 12, 2006
    By 
    Jack Applewhite (Texas) –
    (REAL NAME)
      

    This review is from: Sony ZSH10CP Heavy Duty CD Radio Boombox (Electronics)

    A quick caveat before I review. As of 5/12/2006 the Sony site (and Sears, too) still says this boombox takes ‘C’ batteries. It doesn’t, it takes ‘D’ size, though a quantity of 6 is correct. I can’t see that Amazon has included battery info. one way or the other.

    This is truly an Industrial Strength boombox – extremely rugged. I bought one for my handicapped daughter, who needs almost constant music to keep her happy, but has been pretty rough on past boomboxes. This one ought to last.

    It is significantly larger than the average portable boombox, so pay attention to the dimensions and weight to see if it’s a fit for you.

    The only weak spot is the antenna, which my daughter managed to break the first day. Be careful how you restore it to its telescoped slot. We can’t find a replacement antenna yet.

    Also, it lists on the Sony site and at Sears for $129.99, so I don’t know where this site got a list price of $179.99.

    Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes
    No

  3. RicR2 says:
    202 of 208 people found the following review helpful
    5.0 out of 5 stars
    A significant Upgrade to the Sony S2, July 8, 2006
    By 
    RicR2 (McLean, VA USA) –

    Amazon Verified Purchase(What’s this?)
    This review is from: Sony ZSH10CP Heavy Duty CD Radio Boombox (Electronics)

    Terms

    S2 = Sony ZS-XN30 Multi-Codec S2 Sports CD/Tuner Boombox (White)
    H10 = Sony ZS-H10CP Heavy Duty CD Radio Boombox

    Background: I bought the H10 to replace a defunct S2. I use three S2s and one H10 daily (and simultaneously) at a swimming pool, so I compare them daily.

    My biggest surprise is that, contrary to what the specs imply, the H10 sounds twice as loud as the S2. Perhaps this is due in large part to the H10’s significantly better base: there is noticeably more of it, and it is very clean (has low distortion). I play the S2 with the Mega Bass button on, yet the H10 bass is so pronounced and clean that I leave the its Mega Bass off. “Specs imply” means that the specifications state that the H10 = 2.3 watts per speaker vs 2.0 watts for the S2.

    The H10 is significantly easier to use than the S2: The S2’s up-down Volume buttons have been replaced with a large dial, the S2’s jog control whose operation baffled water aerobic instructors has been replaced with clearly marked buttons, and that aggravating push-to-open CD cover has been replaced with a cover that has a hinge lock. And since the CD cover of two of my three S2’s is nonfunctional, my guess is that this new hinge-lock cover will be more durable.

    On the H10 but not on the S2 are: Line-in (for tape players and ipods), and a storage compartment. The latter is large enough both for both the H10’s wall plug and a line-in jack (not provided).

    The H10 is noticeably heavier than the S2, about the same width and depth, and twice the S2’s heigth. Also, the black-red motif is much more in-your-face than the subtle white of the S2.

    8/17/06 Update: At least twice the controls have locked up; that is, the controls have acted as if a “Hold” switch was turned on, except the H2 has no such switch. Both times removing the batteries solved the problem. I deduce that this is caused by some combination of relatively uncommon button-pushing.
    7/27/09 Update: Absolutely no lockup since the Summer of ’06.

    In summary, the H10 both sounds better and is significantly easier to operate than the S2.

    10/16/06 Update: I’ve started adapting to limited floorspace by playing the H10 on its side; note that it is designed to be able to do so.

    11/7/06 Update: The H10 sounds so much better than the S2 that I replaced all three S2s with H10s.

    7/27/09 Update:
    1. To get maximum performance at maximum volume, plug the H10 in, to either a wall socket or an external battery, like the Duracell Powersource Mobile 100.
    2. Lasts longer poolside than any other boombox I know of: Most boomboxes last about 6 months poolside; in contrast, the two H10’s lasted for more than two years of daily (Monday through Friday) use; then their CD players stopped working at about the same time.

    Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes
    No

  4. R. Langdon "Scriptor" says:
    104 of 107 people found the following review helpful
    5.0 out of 5 stars
    Excellent Product, March 8, 2007
    By 
    R. Langdon “Scriptor” (Four Oaks, NC USA) –
    (VINE VOICE)
      
    (REAL NAME)
      

    Amazon Verified Purchase(What’s this?)
    This review is from: Sony ZSH10CP Heavy Duty CD Radio Boombox (Electronics)

    I searched high and low for a product like this and seriously, this was the only one that had it all … plays regular and mp3 CDs, AM/FM radio, line-in for any external player from laptops to mp3 players, no useless cassette player to get in the way and most importantly, it has GREAT sound; plenty of volume and bass response. Yes, it’s heavy duty. It is rugged enough to take along to the work site, keep in the garage, take camping, you name it; it has sealed compartments and speaker guards to protect from dust or hits; it has a sturdy handle built into a protective frame; it has a small enough footprint to sit on most standard shelves … also, it has a smarter, simpler look that I appreciate; it doesn’t look like some sci-fi robot or a work of abstract art … it is surprisingly light since the power supply is contained with the AC adapter (some might find it a negative to have to lug around a heavier, bulky AC adapter, but it depends on your perspective). The unit also contains a storage compartment for line-in cords, head phones or mp3 players. Like I said, it is hard to find any other product that completely rivals this unit in it’s price range. Highly recommended if you need a rugged player with great sound, mp3 capabilities and line-in feature. I am really enjoying mine.

    Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes
    No

Leave a Reply

topcontent-20
US
AKIAJQQMJPCNYXVNQPPA